Needed: Fully Interactive Help Pages

15Mar08

I am using a computer program.  It does something weird.  I want to be able to show a technician exactly what I was doing and how the program responded.

Suppose the program is Microsoft Word.  I go to Microsoft’s website.  I find the Interactive Word Help page.  This page shows me a mock-up of a working Word installation.  I can choose layout options, and can drag and drop things on the screen, to make their Word layout look just like mine.  Then I can add a dialog box, like if you were using a Paint program and you wanted to add a rectangle; and in the dialog box I can type the text that Word is giving me.  I can save the configuration and send the URL to someone in Microsoft or elsewhere, who can then tell with one look what I’m doing wrong.

No Responses Yet to “Needed: Fully Interactive Help Pages”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

