Needed: Individually Wrapped Aspirin

16Aug09

Chewing an aspirin at the onset of a heart attack is said to improve the odds of survival.  But aspirin, aspirin, who’s got the aspirin?  The aspirin bottle is safely waiting for me somewhere back home – in the bathroom, maybe, or the kitchen – and here I am on a 10K run, about two miles away.

I have some individually wrapped LifeSaver candies.  Each is in its own little cellophane wrapper.  If I want to eat one, I just tear open the wrapper, and there you are.  If I wanted to take one along, I would not have to worry about it getting fouled with sweat or even crushed if I put it in my back pocket and sat on it.  The crumbs would still be there inside the wrapper.

So, OK, next winter, when I go out to shovel snow, what I’d really like to do is put one or two cello-wrapped aspirins in my pocket.  The outside of the cellophane can go ahead and get wet from melting snow, no problem.  And if I start to get nasty chest pressure, I know where the aspirin is, and maybe I can open and munch one before I keel over.

No Responses Yet to “Needed: Individually Wrapped Aspirin”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

