Needed: gScholar

25Dec10

Sent this to Google today:

Could you provide a permanent location for scholarly papers? Journals are not keeping up: it can take two years to publish cutting-edge insights. Scenario: I write my manuscript; I post it on gScholar; I send the link to the editors of a journal. They vet it. If they don’t like it, I send it to another journal; it remains visible only to me and those whom I designate as readers. Ideally I would be reminded that sharing with more than one journal at a time may compromise its publishability. If they like it, they let me know and send me the posting URL for their electronic version. I designate that as the URL where my article will be published. Using that URL, they embed my article on their website once they and I have agreed on its final format. Once they embed it, the link becomes permanent; I lose control of it as long as their website or its designated successor remains viable. This outlet allows them to e-publish supplements containing as many articles as they wish. Conceivably, their paper version becomes a memorialization of their most downloaded articles from the past three months. Just like that, the pace of scientific discovery quickens immeasurably.

No Responses Yet to “Needed: gScholar”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

