Poem: No Man’s Land

19Mar12

I’m standing at a no-man’s land
With signless space on every hand
Inside or out?  I cannot tell
The lines aren’t marked here very well
I’m close to danger, that’s for sure
And I’d be running if I were
As clever recognizing fear
As I was getting into here

But why not sit down on this brink
And take a bit of time to think?
This place I’m at is tough, all right
Yet stimulates my appetite
I feel alive here, on the brim
Of learning, on the world’s rim
Although there’s something of a threat
It’s not unlike a sporting bet

The risk, you see, is that I’ll feel
Emotions strident, strong and real
That formerly I put away
On one unhappy prior day
And feeling them will do me well
Not put me in an inner hell
No kidding, for me it’s a chance
So don’t dismiss it with a glance

(June 14, 1985)

No Responses Yet to “Poem: No Man’s Land”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

